cuts of lamb
Loin Chops
lamb - loin_chops
Crown of Lamb
crown of lamb
Cutlets, French Trimmed
lamb cutlets, French trimmed
Chump or Rump
lamb chump or rump
Leg Steaks (bone in)
lamb - leg steaks, bone in
Loin Fillets
lamb - loin fillets
noisette of lamb
Leg, Boned and Rolledlamb leg, boned and rolled


The meat of a lamb is taken from the animal between one month and one year old. This meat generally is more tender than that from older sheep. Lamb is often sorted into three kinds of meat: forequarter, loin, and hindquarter. The forequarter includes the neck, shoulder, front legs, and the ribs up to the shoulder blade. The hindquarter includes the rear legs and hip. The loin includes the ribs between the two. Lamb chops are cut from the rib, loin, and shoulder areas. The rib chops include a rib bone; the loin chops include only a chine bone. Shoulder chops are usually considered inferior to loin chops; both kinds of chop are usually grilled. Breast of lamb (baby chops) can be cooked in an oven. Leg of lamb is a whole leg; saddle of lamb is the two loins with the hip. Leg and saddle are usually roasted, though the leg is sometimes boiled. Roasted leg and saddle may be served anywhere from rare to well-done.